Helping Children with Events in News

Good Evening Cohasset Families,

 

In an effort to support families as they process information in the news media involving Cohasset, I am sharing the below link from Common Sense Media, with some additional resources included at the bottom of the article from the American Association of Psychologists:

 

https://www.commonsensemedia.org/articles/explaining-the-news-to-our-kids

 

Please also know that we have counselors at all of our schools to talk to your child if your child is in need of someone to talk to or to help process anything they have seen in the media or heard in school. We always stress the importance of adhering to normal routines during all difficult times, as children find comfort in knowing that schools are safe and supportive. Please do not hesitate to contact principals or counselors if we can assist you in any way.

 

The District Website has a page dedicated to Social Emotional Learning and Wellness. Please remember that our schools are a resource, and that our counselors, school psychologists, and social workers can support you and your child.

 

Here are a list of our counselors at each building:

 

Osgood: Dave Vinton dvinton@cohassetk12.org (adjustment counselor)

Deer Hill: Robyn Costa rcosta@cohassetk12.org (adjustment counselor)

Deer Hill and Osgood: Maeve Dullea mdullea@cohassetk12.org (adjustment counselor)

Deer Hill and Osgood: Alyson Doyle adoyle@cohassetk12.org (school psychologist)

 

CMS: Emily Manewal emanewal@cohassetk12.org (adjustment Counselor)

Allison Pearce apearce@cohassetk12.org (school psychologist)

 

CHS: Laura Struzziery lstruzziery@cohassetk12.org (lead counselor)

Leanne McCarthy lmccarthy@cohassetk12.org (high school adjustment counselor)

Kevin McGowan kmcgowan@cohassetk12.org (high school counselor)

Allison Battista abattista@cohassetk12.org (high school counselor)

Catlin Stromberg cstromberg@cohassetk12.org (school psychologist)

 

Robert Collins rcollins@cohassetk12.org (middle and high school social worker)

 

Sincerely,

 

Patrick Sullivan, Ed.D.

Superintendent

Cohasset Public Schools